Seasons of the Heart


I am waiting excitedly for the next season, looking for cooler, brisker breezes, looking at the leaves on every tree for any sign of color change. Autumn is my favorite time of year, so I watch for the season to begin its grand display

The golds, the burgundies, the rust colors are all welcomed sights to me. So soon it will be a season in full force, with bonfires, hay rides, corn mazes, pumpkin patches, and nice warm cups of tea. Autumn is s comforting season, a time for getting ready to create new holiday memories around a thanksgiving feast.

Marina Wiederkehr writes of other kinds of seasons, the seasons of the heart. Her writing teaches us that there are seasons within our hearts, seasons that change as life changes. This is what she expresses:

The seasons of my heart change like the seasons of the fields. There are seasons of wonder and hope, seasons of suffering and love, seasons of healing. There are seasons of dying and rising, seasons of faith.
― Macrina Wiederkehr, “Seasons of Your Heart: Prayers and Reflections, Revised and Expanded”

I welcome the seasons of my heart as something that makes me know I am fully alive and completely engaged with my emotions and my spirituality. Knowing the changes of the heart’s seasons and embracing them as they come is a healthy state of being. Thanks be to God for a heart that is changeable and welcoming of every emotion.

1 thought on “Seasons of the Heart”

I would love to hear your comments.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s